Poll: Was Talbot interfered with on Rakell's game-tying goal?
Poll: Was Talbot interfered with on Rakell's game-tying goal?

The Edmonton Oilers are mad.

After blowing a 3-0 lead in Game 5 and eventually losing 4-3 in double overtime, the club is left searching for answers. Particularly to one question: Why wasn't Rickard Rakell's game-tying goal disallowed?

The Anaheim Ducks forward scored with only 15 seconds left to force extras, and while the tally was automatically reviewed for goaltender interference, it stood. The rest is history. But the Oilers want an explanation, especially about Ryan Kesler's left hand:

Kesler was ruled to have been pushed into the crease by Oilers defenseman Darnell Nurse, but it appears in the image above that he had a hold on Oilers goalie Cam Talbot's pad after the fact.

Here's an opposing view, from The Athletic's James Mirtle, which will certainly go over well in Edmonton:

Should the goal have counted? Cast your vote:

Game 6 is Sunday in Edmonton.

TRENDING
Watch: Landeskog pots hat trick vs. league-leading Lightning
Anderson, Senators defeat Canadiens in NHL 100 Classic
Blues' Hutton sets franchise record with shutout vs. Jets