Ohio State AD resigns from CFP committee
Kirk Irwin / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Ohio State athletic director Gene Smith stepped down from the College Football Playoff selection committee Friday, citing a need to devote more attention to new head coach Ryan Day.

"Serving on this committee has been an honor," Smith said in a statement obtained by ESPN's Heather Dinich. "Contributing to this great sport is always a privilege, and I will miss the time with my colleagues. It is imperative for me to have 100 percent focus in helping our new coach with his transition at The Ohio State University this fall."

Smith served two of his scheduled three years on the committee. He'll be replaced by Iowa athletic director Gary Barta.

Day is embarking on his first season as Buckeyes head coach after replacing Urban Meyer, who retired following the Rose Bowl. Day previously served as Meyer's offensive coordinator but has never been a head coach.

"Gene has been an invaluable member of our CFP selection committee," CFP executive director Bill Hancock said in his own statement. "As a former football student-athlete, coach, and now collegiate administrator, his influence is deeply appreciated. This is a significant time commitment, and we understand Gene's need to focus on his primary responsibility on campus."

Ohio State AD resigns from CFP committee
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox