College football awards roundup: Tagovailoa, Alabama win big
Kevin C. Cox / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Following the College Football Awards Show on Thursday, here is a roundup of all the hardware handed out for the 2018 season.

Maxwell Award

Winner: Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama)

It was a big night for Alabama's brightest star. After being named the Walter Camp Player of the Year, Tagovailoa took another big step toward the Heisman by earning the award for college football's most outstanding player.

Other finalists: Kyler Murray (Oklahoma), Will Grier (West Virginia)

Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award

Winner: Kyler Murray (Oklahoma)

Icon Sportswire / Icon Sportswire / Getty

Murray, Tagovailoa's biggest rival for the Heisman, was forced to be content with being named the nation's top quarterback. The Sooner lit up defenses all season long with both his arm and his legs, producing nearly 5,000 yards from scrimmage and 51 scores.

Other finalists: Gardner Minshew II (Washington State), Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama)

Chuck Bednarik Award

Winner: Josh Allen (Kentucky)

Allen helped kick-start Kentucky's resurgence after registering an incredible 14 sacks, five forced fumbles, 84 tackles, and 18 tackles for loss, good enough to earn him the award as the best defensive player in college football.

Other finalists: Christian Wilkins (Clemson) Quinnen Williams (Alabama)

Home Depot Coach of the Year

Winner: Brian Kelly, Notre Dame

Announced Wednesday, Kelly was honored for coaching the Fighting Irish to an undefeated regular season (12-0).

Other finalists: Bill Clark (UAB), Josh Heupel (UCF), Jeff Monken (Army), Lincoln Riley (Oklahoma), Nick Saban (Alabama), Dabo Swinney (Clemson), Jeff Tedford (Fresno State)

Biletnikoff Award

Winner: Jerry Jeudy (Alabama)

Jonathan Bachman / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Jeudy followed in Amari Cooper's footsteps, taking home the award for best receiver. As Tagovailoa's favorite target, Jeudy caught 59 passes for 1,103 yards and 12 touchdowns.

Other finalists: Andy Isabella (UMass), Tylan Wallace (Oklahoma State)

Doak Walker Award

Winner: Jonathan Taylor (Wisconsin)

Taylor carried on a tradition of success for the Badgers, becoming the third Wisconsin running back in the last seven years to take home the award. The sophomore rushed for an FBS-best 1,989 yards and 15 touchdowns.

Other finalists: Travis Etienne (Clemson), Darrell Henderson (Memphis)

Outland Trophy

Winner: Quinnen Williams (Alabama)

The award for the best interior defensive lineman went to Williams after a breakout year in which he racked up eight sacks and 18 tackles for loss.

Other finalists: Christian Wilkins (Clemson), Jonah Williams (Alabama)

Jim Thorpe Award

Winner: Deandre Baker, Georgia

Icon Sportswire / Icon Sportswire / Getty

Baker was named the nation's premier defensive back after helping the Bulldogs rank as a top-15 pass defense. The cornerback had two interceptions, nine passes defensed, and 31 total tackles.

Other finalists: Julian Love (Notre Dame), Greedy Williams (LSU)

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award

Winner: Andre Szmyt (Syracuse)

Szmyt was crowned as college football's top kicker after leading the nation in field goals made (28 of 32) and hitting every one of his extra points (57).

Other finalists: Cooper Rothe (Wyoming), Cole Tracy (LSU)

Ray Guy Award

Winner: Braden Mann (Texas A&M)

Mann was the nation's top punter after leading the country with a 51.1-yard punting average and setting the record for most 60-yard punts.

Other finalists: James Smith (Cincinnati), Mitch Wishnowsky (Utah)

NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award

Winner: Historically Black Colleges and Universities

Disney Spirit Award

Winner: Tyler Trent, Purdue football super fan

College football awards roundup: Tagovailoa, Alabama win big
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox