Referee error gave Central Michigan chance for winning TD
The officials made a mistake by giving the Chippewas an untimed down after the Cowboys were called for intentional grounding. Here's what led up to the craziness:
- Oklahoma State, leading 27-24, faced a fourth down near midfield with four seconds to go.
- Quarterback Mason Rudolph dropped back and heaved the ball incomplete to run out the clock.
- However, the Cowboys were called for intentional grounding because no receiver went out for the pass.
- The ball was then turned over to Central Michigan, and they were awarded one untimed down, which they used to complete a crazy hook and ladder for the upset.
The problem was the game should've been over after the penalty, as, according to the rule book, the game isn't extended for an untimed down if the penalty includes a loss of down and the penalized team is in possession of the ball.
The whole fiasco could've been avoided if Oklahoma State ran a receiver out for a pattern, or if Rudolph ran around for a few seconds before taking a knee.