Jordan, Silver among 8 named to inaugural board of NBA Foundation
Streeter Lecka / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The eight members of the NBA Foundation board of directors were announced Friday, with league commissioner Adam Silver, NBPA director Michele Roberts, four team governors, and two players leading the inaugural group.

Charlotte Hornets chairman Michael Jordan, New Orleans Pelicans governor Gayle Benson, Atlanta Hawks principal owner Tony Ressler, and Toronto Raptors governor and NBA board of governors chairman Larry Tanenbaum represent the ownership ranks.

As previously announced, Philadelphia 76ers forward Tobias Harris and Sacramento Kings forward Harrison Barnes represent the players.

A search is underway for an executive director to oversee the initiative.

The NBA Foundation was founded this summer to "drive economic empowerment for Black communities through employment and career advancement," according to a joint statement from the NBA and NBPA. The board of directors will provide strategic guidance regarding programming and grants.

Initial funding for the initiative comprises of an annual $1-million pledge by all 30 teams for the next decade, totaling a $300-million commitment overall.

Jordan, Silver among 8 named to inaugural board of NBA Foundation
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox