Skip to content

FIBA Olympic qualifying tournament draws announced

Lintao Zhang / Getty Images Sport / Getty

FIBA held its draws for next year's Olympic qualifying tournaments, where four men's berths and 10 women's berths for Tokyo 2020 are up for grabs.

Here's how the draws shook out.

Men's qualifying draw

The men's qualifying draw features 24 countries split into four tournaments of six teams each. Within each tournament, the teams are split into two groups of three.

Eight teams have already qualified for the Tokyo 2020 tournament. Seven nations received berths based on their performance at this past summer's FIBA Basketball World Cup: Argentina, Australia, France, Iran, Nigeria, Spain, and the United States. Additionally, Japan has received an automatic berth as Olympic hosts.

Each of the four qualifying tournaments will produce one additional qualifier, bringing the Olympic field to 12 men's teams.

The men's qualifying tournaments will take place from June 23-28 next summer.


Seed Group A Group B
1 Dominican Republic Puerto Rico
2 New Zealand Italy
3 Serbia (H) Senegal


Seed Group A Group B
1 Lithuania (H) Poland
2 Korea Slovenia
3 Venezuela Angola


Seed Group A Group B
1 Germany Tunisia
2 Russia Croatia (H)
3 Mexico Brazil


Seed Group A Group B
1 Greece Uruguay
2 China Czech Republic
3 Canada (H) Turkey

Women's qualifying draw

The women's qualifying draw is more straight forward, with 16 nations split into groups of four across four host sites. The top three teams from each group will qualify for the Olympics.

As Olympic hosts, Japan's women's team has already qualified for Tokyo 2020. So has the United States, which earned its berth by winning the 2018 FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup. However, unlike the men's draw, those two nations will still participate in the Olympic qualifying tournaments and will advance regardless of how they perform.

The women's qualifying tournaments will take place from Feb. 6-9 this winter.

Seed Belgrade Bourges Fushan Ostende
1 Nigeria France (H) Korea Canada
2 USA Puerto Rico China (H) Japan
3 Serbia (H) Brazil Great Britain Sweden
4 Mozambique Australia Spain Belgium (H)

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox