Budenholzer wins 2nd Coach of the Year award after Bucks' 60-win season
Nathaniel S. Butler / National Basketball Association / Getty

As voted on by members of the media, the NBA named the Milwaukee Bucks' Mike Budenholzer the 2018-19 Coach of the Year at the NBA Awards show in Santa Monica, Cali., Monday night.

Budenholzer is the ninth person to win multiple Coach of the Year awards, and the sixth to do so with multiple teams. He had previously won with the Atlanta Hawks in 2014-15. Additionally, he is the first Bucks skipper to win in the category since Don Nelson in 1984-85.

The 49-year-old's win was one of several big awards for the organization, which also saw Giannis Antetokounmpo honored as the league's Most Valuable Player and general manager Jon Horst named Executive of the Year.

“In his first season, Bud instilled a new culture and dynamic style of play that led us to 60 wins and the best record in the league. As a great communicator, he quickly earned the confidence of his players, who played hard for him night in and night out," Horst said in a statement. "On behalf of ownership and the entire Bucks organization, we congratulate Coach Bud for this well-deserved honor.”

Budenholzer received 77-of-100 first-place votes, besting runner-ups Doc Rivers (13 first-place votes) of the Los Angeles Clippers and Denver Nuggets bench boss Mike Malone (six).

Budenholzer wins 2nd Coach of the Year award after Bucks' 60-win season
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox