After Bradley Beal made a mad dash to the hoop - appearing to take more than the legal number of steps after gathering his dribble - viewers were perplexed when the Wizards' All-Star didn't draw a whistle:
The human element of officiating will lead to calls being missed occasionally. However, the National Basketball Referees Association doubled down on its position this time, asserting that the officials were correct in not calling a traveling violation.
Here's the NBRA's explanation on Tuesday morning:
The offensive player gathers with his right foot on the ground. He then takes two legal steps, before losing control of the ball. After regaining possession, a player is allowed to regain his pivot foot and pass or shoot prior to that foot returning to the ground. This is legal.