MLS awards: Zlatan, Vela battle for MVP as finalists unveiled
Shaun Clark / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The finalists for Major League Soccer's 2019 year-end awards were revealed Monday, with a star-studded trio vying for the top individual prize.

Carlos Vela, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, and Josef Martinez were shortlisted for the Most Valuable Player award, with the Mexican attacker favored to claim the hardware after his spectacular record-breaking campaign.

The honors will be handed out in the coming weeks.

Here are the finalists for each of the league's marquee awards:

Most Valuable Player

  • Zlatan Ibrahimovic (LA Galaxy)
  • Josef Martinez (Atlanta United)
  • Carlos Vela (LAFC)

Defender of the Year

  • Ike Opara (Minnesota United)
  • Miles Robinson (Atlanta United)
  • Walker Zimmerman (LAFC)

Goalkeeper of the Year

  • Bill Hamid (D.C. United)
  • Sean Johnson (New York City FC)
  • Vito Mannone (Minnesota United FC)

Newcomer of the Year

The league defines a newcomer as a player "with previous professional experience who made his MLS debut in 2019."

  • Carles Gil (New England Revolution)
  • Heber (New York City FC)
  • Alejandro Pozuelo (Toronto FC)

Rookie of the Year

  • Brenden Aaronson (Philadelphia Union)
  • Hassani Dotson (Minnesota United)
  • Andre Shinyashiki (Colorado Rapids)

Coach of the Year

  • Bob Bradley (LAFC)
  • Jim Curtin (Philadelphia Union)
  • Domenec Torrent (New York City FC)

Comeback Player of the Year

  • Mark-Anthony Kaye (LAFC)
  • Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders)
  • Kacper Przybylko (Philadelphia Union)

A complete list, including nominees for the league's less-celebrated awards, is available here.

MLS awards: Zlatan, Vela battle for MVP as finalists unveiled
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox