Cruz, Freeman claim top honors in Players Choice Awards
Hannah Foslien / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The MLBPA has named Minnesota Twins designated hitter Nelson Cruz the Marvin Miller Man of the Year after tallying votes from his peers for the Players Choice Awards.

The award is given annually to the most respected player "based on his leadership on the field and in the community." The 40-year-old hit 16 homers over 53 games in 2020, posting a .992 OPS. The six-time All-Star will be eligible for free agency this winter.

Meanwhile, Atlanta Braves first baseman Freddie Freeman won Player of the Year as well as National League Outstanding Player.

Freeman appeared in every game for the Braves this season, slashing .341/.462/.640 and leading all of baseball with 51 runs scored and 23 doubles.

Chicago White Sox slugger Jose Abreu was named American League Outstanding Player. Abreu led the majors with 60 RBIs, and he paced the Junior Circuit with 76 hits and a .617 slugging percentage.

On the pitching side, players selected Cleveland Indians ace Shane Bieber as the AL's Outstanding Pitcher, and Cincinnati Reds right-hander Trevor Bauer in the NL.

Bieber went 8-1 with an MLB-leading 1.63 ERA and 2.07 FIP. The 2019 All-Star also posted a major-league-leading 122 strikeouts.

Bauer led the NL with a 1.73 ERA and 0.79 WHIP while throwing a pair of complete-game shutouts. The 29-year-old will become a free agent five days after the World Series ends.

Here are the remainder of the awards:

Award AL NL
Outstanding Rookie Kyle Lewis Jake Cronenworth
Comeback Player Carlos Carrasco Daniel Bard

Seattle Mariners outfielder Kyle Lewis hit .262/.364/.437 with 11 homers over 58 games during his first full season. Cronenworth, who the San Diego Padres acquired in the Tommy Pham trade, was integral to the team's success, posting a .831 OPS at second base.

Carrasco missed much of the 2019 season while battling leukemia. In 2020, the right-hander returned to author a 2.91 ERA and 3.59 FIP over 68 innings for Cleveland.

Finally, Bard went more than six years between major-league appearances, dating back to two outings in 2013. The right-hander eventually became the Colorado Rockies' closer, recording six saves in as many opportunities while posting a 3.65 ERA over 24 2/3 innings.

Hall of Famer Andre Dawson won the inaugural Curt Flood Award. The MLBPA introduced the Curt Flood award, to be given to "a former player, living or deceased, who in the image of Flood demonstrated a selfless, longtime devotion to the Players Association and advancement of players' rights."

Dawson memorably received no offers as a free agent prior to the 1987 season. A superstar at the time, Dawson went on to win the NL MVP that year with the Chicago Cubs while making $500,000 - a case that would become integral later when the MLBPA proved the league colluded to lower player salaries.

Cruz, Freeman claim top honors in Players Choice Awards
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox