2020 NL Cy Young opening odds: DeGrom gunning for 3-peat
Mike Stobe / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Find line reports, best bets, and subscribe to push notifications in the Betting News section.

Is there any catching Jacob deGrom?

In 2020, the New York Mets pitcher is eyeing becoming just the third player in MLB history to win three straight Cy Young awards, following in the footsteps of Greg Maddux and Randy Johnson.

The 31-year-old became the first Mets pitcher to win the award in consecutive seasons after taking it in 2018 and 2019, doing so in almost unanimous fashion while garnering 29 out of 30 first-place votes each year.

Year Winner
2019 Jacob deGrom
2018 Jacob deGrom
2017 Max Scherzer
2016 Max Scherzer
2015 Jake Arrieta
2014 Clayton Kershaw
2013 Clayton Kershaw
2012 R.A. Dickey
2011 Clayton Kershaw
2010 Roy Halladay

Oddsmakers have made deGrom a 5-2 favorite to successfully defend his crown once again, with Washington Nationals pitcher Max Scherzer - a three-time winner - right behind him at 4-1.

Player Odds
Jacob deGrom +250
Max Scherzer +400
Jack Flaherty +500
Walker Buehler +500
Stephen Strasburg +1600
Aaron Nola +2000
Clayton Kershaw +2000
Luis Castillo +2000
Noah Syndergaard +2000
Brandon Woodruff +2500
Mike Soroka +2500
Patrick Corbin +2500
Chris Paddack +3000
German Marquez +3000
Yu Darvish +3000
Madison Bumgarner +4000
Max Fried +4000
Sonny Gray +4000
Josh Hader +5000
Mike Foltynewicz +5000
Trevor Bauer +5000

Only displaying players with odds 50-1 or shorter

Joining the two former winners at the top of the oddsboard are a pair of first-time hopefuls in St. Louis Cardinals ace Jack Flaherty and Los Angeles Dodgers hurler Walker Buehler, each at 5-1. Flaherty, 24, and Buehler, 25, both enjoyed breakout seasons in 2019 after opening the year at 50-1 and 20-1, respectively, to win the NL Cy Young.

The value begins beyond that foursome, with 2019 World Series MVP Stephen Strasburg at 16-1. Strasburg finished fifth in NL Cy Young voting last season, and he'll attempt to build on the momentum from his flawless postseason run while looking to win the award for the first time.

Three-time winner Clayton Kershaw highlights the 20-1 group alongside 2019 breakout right-hander Luis Castillo, and bounce-back candidates Aaron Nola and Noah Syndergaard.

Closely following them is another trio of youngsters looking to cement themselves among the game's elite in Mike Soroka (25-1), Chris Paddack (30-1), and German Marquez (30-1).

Josh Hader, who's down the list at 50-1, will try to become the first reliever to win the award since Eric Gagne in 2003.

Alex Moretto is a sports betting writer for theScore. A journalism graduate from Guelph-Humber University, he has worked in sports media for over a decade. He will bet on anything from the Super Bowl to amateur soccer, is too impatient for futures, and will never trust a kicker. Find him on Twitter @alexjmoretto.

2020 NL Cy Young opening odds: DeGrom gunning for 3-peat
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox