2020 NL MVP opening odds: Acuna, Tatis, Soto chasing history
Icon Sportswire / Getty

Find line reports, best bets, and subscribe to push notifications in the Betting News section.

Ahead of his third MLB season, Ronald Acuna Jr. is the early betting favorite to be crowned National League MVP in 2020.

The Atlanta Braves outfielder will be 22 years and 284 days old on the final day of the regular season, which would make him the youngest player in MLB history to win an MVP award, beating the previous mark set by Johnny Bench (22 years, 298 days old) in 1970.

But Acuna isn't the only youngster chasing history - two others are hot on his heels near the top of the oddsboard.

Player Odds
Ronald Acuna Jr. +350
Christian Yelich +700
Fernando Tatis Jr. +800
Juan Soto +800
Cody Bellinger +1000
Mookie Betts +1000
Bryce Harper +1400
Nolan Arenado +1400
Javier Baez +2000
Kris Bryant +2000
Freddie Freeman +2500
Manny Machado +2500
Paul Goldschmidt +2500
Eugenio Suarez +3000
Jacob deGrom +3000
Max Scherzer +3000
Rhys Hoskins  +3000
Trevor Story +3000
Pete Alonso +4000
Anthony Rizzo +5000

Only displaying players with odds 50-1 or shorter

At 8-1, Fernando Tatis Jr. and Juan Soto are tied for the third-shortest odds. Soto, the Washington Nationals outfielder and a reigning World Series champion, was born more than 10 months after Acuna, while Tatis Jr., the San Diego Padres phenom, is the youngest of the bunch, born almost three months after Soto and more than a full year after Acuna.

History will be made if any of those three young stars claims the award.

Just ahead of Tatis and Soto is 2018 NL MVP Christian Yelich at 7-1, slightly shorter than 2019 winner Cody Bellinger. Unlike the American League honor - which has been dominated in recent memory by Mike Trout - 11 different players have been named NL MVP over the last 11 seasons, which doesn’t bode well for the last two winners.

Year Winner Team
2019 Cody Bellinger Los Angeles Dodgers
2018 Christian Yelich Milwaukee Brewers
2017 Giancarlo Stanton Miami Marlins
2016 Kris Bryant Chicago Cubs
2015 Bryce Harper Washington Nationals
2014 Clayton Kershaw Los Angeles Dodgers
2013 Andrew McCutchen Pittsburgh Pirates
2012 Buster Posey San Francisco Giants
2011 Ryan Braun Milwaukee Brewers
2010 Joey Votto Cincinnati Reds

Bellinger is level at 10-1 with new Los Angeles Dodgers teammate Mookie Betts, the 2018 AL MVP. They're closely followed by Bryce Harper, who was crowned the NL winner in 2015 at the ripe age of 22 years, 353 days. Both former winners are hoping for a bounce-back campaign after posting disappointing numbers in 2019 - at least by their standards.

The Chicago Cubs are coming off a down 2019 season of their own, finishing with their lowest win total since 2014 and missing the playoffs for the first time since then. Javier Baez and Kris Bryant, both listed at 20-1, are two of the players tasked with helping the Cubs return to the postseason.

Acuna's teammate Freddie Freeman and Tatis' fellow Padre Manny Machado highlight the 25-1 group, while a pair of hurlers - Jacob deGrom and Max Scherzer - are among the group sitting at 30-1, though just one pitcher has won the NL MVP Award since 1968.

Alex Moretto is a sports betting writer for theScore. A journalism graduate from Guelph-Humber University, he has worked in sports media for over a decade. He will bet on anything from the Super Bowl to amateur soccer, is too impatient for futures, and will never trust a kicker. Find him on Twitter @alexjmoretto.

2020 NL MVP opening odds: Acuna, Tatis, Soto chasing history
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox