Watch: Red Sox catcher Vazquez commits bizarre case of interference
Bob DeChiara / USA TODAY Sports

Well, that's not something you see every day.

After Boston Red Sox catcher Christian Vazquez failed to cleanly receive a pitch from reliever Carson Smith, he touched the ball with his face mask in the dirt.

The initial response indicated that the play was declared a catcher's balk, though this turned out to be imprecise. The official ruling in the game was that Vazquez committed catcher's interference on the play, according to Kevin Dillon of MassLive.

Even with the advanced runners, the Royals couldn't push across a run in the 10th and the game continued.

Comments
Watch: Red Sox catcher Vazquez commits bizarre case of interference
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox