Golden Boy award: Davies, Sancho, Haaland highlight 20 finalists
Boris Streubel / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The 20 finalists for this year's Golden Boy award have been revealed, with a collection of the world's top young stars making the cut.

The list of nominees - which has been whittled down from 40 initial candidates - features Erling Haaland, Jadon Sancho, Alphonso Davies, and Ansu Fati.

The annual honor, which Italian outlet Tuttosport has bestowed since 2003, recognizes the best player in Europe under 21 years of age.

Here are the prodigious talents vying for this year's crown:

Player Club Age
Eduardo Camavinga Rennes 17
Ansu Fati Barcelona 17
Fabio Silva Wolves 18
Ryan Gravenberch Ajax 18
Alphonso Davies Bayern Munich 19
Sergino Dest Barcelona 19
Mason Greenwood Manchester United 19
Callum Hudson-Odoi Chelsea 19
Rodrygo Real Madrid 19
Bukayo Saka Arsenal 19
Dominik Szoboszlai RB Salzburg 19
Sandro Tonali AC Milan 20
Ferran Torres Manchester City 20
Vinicius Jr. Real Madrid 20
Mitchel Bakker Pairs Saint-Germain 20
Jonathan David Lille 20
Phil Foden Manchester City 20
Erling Haaland Borussia Dortmund 20
Jadon Sancho Borussia Dortmund 20
Dejan Kulusevski Juventus 20

Previous winners include Wayne Rooney (2004), Lionel Messi (2005), Paul Pogba (2013), and Kylian Mbappe (2017). Atletico Madrid star Joao Felix took home the award last year.

The winner is typically announced in December, but no date for the big reveal has been confirmed.

Golden Boy award: Davies, Sancho, Haaland highlight 20 finalists
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox