2021 Gold Cup draw: Canada to face U.S. in opening round
Icon Sportswire / Getty

The United States and Canada are paired together after the first-ever CONCACAF Gold Cup draw to determine the groups for next year's tournament.

The North American rivals will be joined in Group B by Martinique and one of Haiti, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Bermuda, or Barbados, who are competing in the preliminary round.

Mexico is in Group A with El Salvador, Curacao, and the winner of the third preliminary qualifier.

The tournament's invited guest, 2022 World Cup host Qatar, is in Group D alongside Honduras, Panama, and Grenada.

The 16-team tournament will kick off on July 10, 2021, with the final being played on Aug. 1, 2021.

Group A: Mexico, El Salvador, Curacao, Preliminary Qualifier No. 3

Group B: USA, Canada, Martinique, Preliminary Qualifier No. 1

Group C: Costa Rica, Jamaica, Suriname, Preliminary Qualifier No. 2

Group D: Honduras, Panama, Grenada, Qatar

The preliminary round will take place from July 2 to 6 to determine the final three spots in the tournament.

Mexico is the reigning Gold Cup champion and the tournament's most successful team with eight titles.

2021 Gold Cup draw: Canada to face U.S. in opening round
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox