Skip to content

CONCACAF reverting to Champions Cup from Champions League

Jam Media / Getty Images Sport / Getty

MIAMI (AP) — CONCACAF is changing the name of its top club competition back to the Champions Cup, what the tournament was called from 1962 through 2008.

The Confederation of North and Central American and Caribbean Association Football announced the change Tuesday, two days after Mexico’s León won this year’s title.

Twenty-two teams will play in the first round and five teams will receive byes, with first-round winners advancing to a round of 16. The first round, round of 16, quarterfinals and semifinals will be home-and-home, total-goals series. The final will be one match.

CONCACAF had eliminated a format utilizing a first-round group stage after the 2016-17 tournament. It had been called the Champions League since 2008.

The tournament winner advances to the Club World Cup.

Mexican clubs have won 17 of the last 18 titles. Seattle won in 2022.


AP soccer: and

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox