Blue Jackets' Dubinsky suspended 1 game for cross-checking Penguins' Crosby
In the explanatory video, Dubinsky is deemed guilty of cross-checking, and while the incident was "not overly violent or forceful," it's ruled to have been an intentional strike to Crosby's head using the stick.
In the league's estimation, the head contact wasn't a result of Dubinsky's stick riding up the back or shoulder, nor a sudden movement by Crosby, thereby placing the onus fully on the perpetrator.
Dubinsky's cross-check delivered to the Penguins superstar's back after he fell to the ice was mentioned, but doesn't appear to factor into the supplementary discipline.
The Blue Jackets center's lack of suspension history - despite being fined twice in the past - and the fact Crosby didn't suffer an injury on the play were also considered.