Lightning's Callahan assessed boarding major for hit on Penguins' Letang
NBCSN
It did not take long for the Eastern Conference finals to get ugly.
Less than five minutes into Game 1, Ryan Callahan of the Tampa Bay Lightning boarded Pittsburgh Penguins defenseman Kris Letang.
Callahan was assessed a major penalty for boarding, but was not ejected.
Per Rule 41, boarding which results in major AND injury = game misconduct. Officials determined no injury to Letang on play.
— Scouting The Refs (@ScoutingTheRefs) May 14, 2016
Letang did skate off the ice and made his way to the locker room for examination, but was able to return later in the opening period.
HEADLINES
- Blue Jays avoid sweep with dramatic win over Dodgers
- Analysis and fantasy notes from Week 1 of NFL preseason
- Raleigh hits MLB-leading 45th HR as Mariners win 7th straight
- D-Backs break franchise record with 9 straight hits in win vs. Rockies
- Jets activate Jermaine Johnson from PUP list 11 months after torn Achilles
Advertisement