NBA backs Kings-Raptors call in L2M Report
The NBA announced Monday that officials correctly overturned Terrence Ross' would-be game-tying three in Sunday's contest between the Sacramento Kings and Toronto Raptors.
Ross' last-second prayer was negated after the Replay Center ruled that the game clock started late on the inbounds play.
Here's the official ruling from the league's Last Two Minute Report:
"The on-court referees noticed a clock malfunction on the inbounds play and correctly triggered an instant replay. After communicating with the Replay Center, it was determined that the clock should have started when Cousins (SAC) tips the ball and run to 0:00.00 before Ross' (TOR) shot was released."
Did the @Raptors get robbed of a game-tying 3? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ pic.twitter.com/pAmRQKbuDt
— theScore (@theScore) November 21, 2016
The Raptors will reportedly submit a formal protest over the controversial decision, arguing that Ross operated under the assumption that more time was on the clock.
The Kings went on to win 102-99.
HEADLINES
- Can Dallas ever turn the page on Nico Harrison's disastrous tenure?
- Draymond: Warriors roster doesn't feel 'committed to winning'
- NBA confirms U.S. vs. World All-Star Game format this season
- Oubre's late basket caps 76ers' comeback win over Celtics
- Christie vows Kings will work 'like crazy' to turn things around