Dreger: Spezza's no-trade list includes Canada, Islanders and Predators

As the Ottawa Senators attempt to meet captain Jason Spezza's trade request, general manager Bryan Murray's scope is limited to 19 teams due to the forward's limited no-trade clause.

According to Darren Dreger of TSN - speaking on TSN 1260 in Edmonton on Tuesday - Spezza's list of 10 teams that he does not want to be traded to includes all six Canadian clubs, as well as the New York Islanders, Nashville Predators, Columbus Blue Jackets and Florida Panthers.

As Steve Lloyd of TSN 1200 in Ottawa reports, however, Spezza may have specifically left Toronto and Montreal off the list due to the fact that such a deal would be extremely unlikely to begin with. As such, Spezza's list effectively expands from 10 to 12, with the additional two teams as of yet unknown.

It's widely believed that Ottawa will look West, meaning Anaheim and St. Louis remain the frontrunners in this conversation, with a team like the Dallas Stars possibly sneaking into contention if the Ducks and Blues decide to focus on pursuing Ryan Kesler.

At any rate, it appears as though Spezza has no desire to play in his home and native land.

Dreger: Spezza's no-trade list includes Canada, Islanders and Predators
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox