Skip to content

LSU's Nabers upset after falling 1 vote shy of Biletnikoff Award

Icon Sportswire / Getty

LSU's Malik Nabers wasn't pleased when he learned that he finished one vote behind Ohio State's Marvin Harrison Jr. to win the Biletnikoff Award.

Nabers' narrow defeat ties for the closest race in the history of the award, which is given to the best wide receiver in the country at the end of the regular season. Washington receiver Rome Odunze finished behind Nabers in voting.

Of the finalists, Nabers concluded the campaign with the most receiving yards (1,546) and yards per game average (128.8). He tied for second in the FBS in touchdowns with 14, one behind teammate Brian Thomas Jr.'s 15 scores. He also finished seventh in the nation with 86 receptions.

LSU appeared to support the standout wideout with a post on X, formerly known as Twitter.

Harrison, the award winner, recorded 67 catches for 1,211 yards and 14 TDs this season.

Nabers was in the running to become the third LSU player to win the Biletnikoff Award after Josh Reed and Ja'Marr Chase won it in 2001 and 2019, respectively. The junior is just 22 yards shy of breaking Reed's school record of 3,001 career receiving yards. He's already broken LSU's career receptions record ahead of the program's matchup against Wisconsin in the ReliaQuest Bowl on Jan. 1.

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox