Alonso conquers Vlad Jr. in epic Home Run Derby
Jason Miller / Getty Images Sport / Getty

New York Mets rookie first baseman Pete Alonso won the 2019 Home Run Derby by eking out a victory over Toronto Blue Jays slugger Vladimir Guerrero Jr. 23-22 in the finals.

Guerrero set a new Derby record with 91 total bombs across three rounds.

While Guerrero went big, Alonso played it steady. "Pete the Polar Bear" won each round just before time expired and was never required to use bonus time. He took home a $1-million prize for the effort while Guerrero was awarded $550,000 for finishing second.

Alonso finished third in total homers with 57, becoming the second player to win the Derby despite not being in the top two. Garret Anderson won in 2003 despite hitting fewer home runs than Albert Pujols and Jason Giambi.

Alonso also became the third rookie to win the Derby after Wally Joyner was a co-champion in 1986 and New York Yankees outfielder Aaron Judge took home the crown in 2017.


Seed Player HR Longest HR
2 Pete Alonso 23 459'
8 Vladimir Guerrero Jr. 22 463'

Though Alonso won, Guerrero finished with 91 total home runs, dwarfing the previous record set by Giancarlo Stanton (61) from 2016.

Second Round

Seed Player HR Longest HR
5 Joc Pederson 39 450'
8 Vladimir Guerrero Jr. 40 488'

Going swing for swing, Vlad Jr. and Pederson each hit eight more home runs to tie again after a playoff. Each slugger was then given three swings to determine the first finalist. They each blasted one to tie again. Guerrero crushed two of his three swings in the second swing-off to take back the lead, and Pederson came up short. Guerrero also set a new record with 69 total home runs in a single Derby with another round to go.

He impressed papa in the process.

Deja vu. Vladdy Jr. initially matched his own record from the opening frame with another 29 homers in the semis before Pederson tied his mark.

Seed Player HR Longest HR
2 Pete Alonso 20 467'
6 Ronald Acuna Jr. 19 469'

Alonso hit the last pitch he saw for his round-winning 20th dinger, earning the spot to face Vlad in the finals.

First Round

Seed Player HR Longest HR
4 Alex Bregman 16 417'
5 Joc Pederson 21 452'

Pederson's 21 bombs are the most ever by a Dodgers slugger in a single round at the Derby. His home runs combined to travel 1.6 miles, according to Daren Willman of MLB.

It's the second consecutive year that Bregman has been eliminated in the first round.

Seed Player HR Longest HR
1 Matt Chapman 13 477'
8 Vladimir Guerrero Jr. 29 476'

Guerrero's 29 home runs set a single-round record, breaking Josh Hamilton's mark of 28 from 2008. He averaged 421.5 feet on his bombs. The 20-year-old is the youngest player to participate in the Home Run Derby.

He also hit 12 more home runs in one round than his father hit in the entire 2007 derby. The senior Guerrero WON that event.

Despite falling short, Chapman wound up with the longest homer of the opening round.

Seed Player HR Longest HR
3 Josh Bell 18 459'
6 Ronald Acuna Jr. 25 469'

Bell couldn't beat Acuna despite a valiant effort, and hitting the most homers of any loser so far in the opening round. Due to the result, his Pirates teammate Trevor Williams won't have to follow through on a very specific bet.

Seed Player HR Longest HR
2 Pete Alonso 14 466'
7 Carlos Santana 13 463'

Santana, the hometown hero, didn't hit his first homer until 53 seconds into the round, putting him behind the eight ball. Alonso advanced before using up his bonus time, blasting his 14th just before time expired.

Alonso conquers Vlad Jr. in epic Home Run Derby
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox