Skip to content

Carter headlines 2024 Naismith Hall of Fame inductees

Gary Dineen / National Basketball Association / Getty

Former NBA veteran Vince Carter has been announced as part of the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2024.

Carter is joined by Chauncey Billups, Michael Cooper, Seimone Augustus, Jerry West, Herb Simon, Doug Collins, Bo Ryan, Walter Davis, Charles Smith, Dick Barnett, Harley Redin, and Michele Timms.

Here's a brief look at the 12 individuals set to be enshrined in the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame:

Vince Carter: The author of some of the most famous dunks in history, Carter was an eight-time NBA All-Star, two-time All-NBA selection, and former Rookie of the Year winner who scored 25,728 career points in an NBA-record 22 seasons. Carter posted a career-high 27.6 points per game during the 2000-01 campaign with the Toronto Raptors and also starred in two Final Fours with North Carolina.

Chauncey Billups: Currently the head coach of the Portland Trail Blazers, Billups was a five-time All-Star and three-time All-NBA selection who won the 2004 NBA title and Finals MVP honors. Billups averaged 15.2 points and 5.4 assists with seven teams across his 17-year career.

Michael Cooper: A member of the iconic 1980s Los Angeles Lakers teams, five-time NBA champion Cooper finally gets the call. Although Cooper averaged just 8.9 points per game in his 12-year career, he earned All-Defense honors eight times and the Defensive Player of the Year award once.

Seimone Augustus: After guiding LSU to three straight Final Four berths and winning two NCCA Player of the Year honors, Augustus enjoyed a stellar WNBA career that included four championships and eight All-Star selections. She also won Finals MVP in 2011 with the Minnesota Lynx, averaging 24.7 points, 5.7 rebounds, and 4.7 assists while shooting 58.7% from the field.

Jerry West: Already inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame as a player, West is getting the nod again as an executive with the Los Angeles Lakers, Memphis Grizzlies, Golden State Warriors, and Los Angeles Clippers.

Herb Simon: Simon, who purchased the Indiana Pacers in 1983 with his brother Mel, is the NBA's longest-serving owner. Under his watch, the Pacers have made the Eastern Conference finals on eight occasions and the NBA Finals in 2000.

Doug Collins: Collins has contributed to the NBA as a player, coach, and broadcaster. He was a four-time All-Star in eight seasons before coaching early-career Michael Jordan with the Chicago Bulls. He also had spells in charge of the Washington Wizards, Philadelphia 76ers, and Detroit Pistons.

Bo Ryan: Ryan posted a 747-223 record across 32 collegiate seasons with Wisconsin-Platteville, Wisconsin-Milwaukee, and Wisconsin. He won a quartet of Division III championships and also guided Wisconsin to back-to-back Final Four appearances in 2014 and 2015.

Walter Davis: A six-time All-Star and two-time All-NBA selection, Davis won the Rookie of the Year award in 1977-78 as part of a noteworthy 11-year spell with the Phoenix Suns. Davis also averaged 24.2 points per game in his rookie season, resulting in a fifth-place MVP finish.

Charles Smith: Not to be confused with the former Knicks and Clippers big man of the same name, Smith is Louisiana's all-time winningest high school basketball coach. He boasts eight state titles and two unbeaten seasons in 2004 and 2010.

Dick Barnett: A star in the collegiate ranks at Tennessee A&I, Barnett led the school to consecutive NAIA national championships (1957-59) before embarking on a 14-year NBA career. He made one All-Star team and won two championships with the New York Knicks in 1970 and 1973.

Harvey Redin: Redin was a significant contributor to the growth of women's basketball in the 1950s and 60s. He served as coach of Wayland Baptist, first with the men's team, then with the women's, where he amassed an astounding 431-66 records across 18 seasons.

Michele Timms: One of the elite point guards of women's basketball, Timms won silver and bronze Olympic medals with Australia in 2000 and 1996, respectively. She was also selected to the 1999 WNBA All-Star game as part of a five-season career in the United States.

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2024 induction ceremony will take place in August.

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox