McIlroy's 2-stroke penalty rescinded
Rory McIlroy was penalized at The Northern Trust on Friday, but the decision was ultimately reversed.
The world's No. 3-ranked golfer was initially handed a two-stroke penalty after he touched what he thought was a rock in a bunker on the 14th hole at Liberty National.
Rory McIlroy thought he was removing a loose impediment from a bunker, but then realized it was just sand.
— PGA TOUR (@PGATOUR) August 9, 2019
He alerted a rules official and was given a two-shot penalty.
He was three back of the lead at the time of the penalty. pic.twitter.com/Ayp8zWw9Ei
However, the penalty was eventually wiped out.
After speaking with @PGATOURRules at the completion of R2 @TheNTGolf , the two-stroke penalty that @McIlroyRory was assessed for touching what he thought was a rock in a bunker on the par-3 14th hole has been rescinded. He sits 65-68–133 (-9) through 36 holes.
— PGA TOUR Communications (@PGATOURComms) August 9, 2019
He was able to joke about it after the round.
At the end of Rory McIlroy’s explanation about the penalty reversal, I asked him this. Think we’re onto something... pic.twitter.com/UZa9yyIPP2
— Jason Sobel (@JasonSobelTAN) August 9, 2019
As a result of the ruling, McIlroy sits three strokes back of leader Dustin Johnson through two rounds.
McIlroy shot a 3-under 68 on Friday.