Central Michigan upsets Oklahoma State with miracle play
Pistols will not be firing tonight in Stillwater.
It was an unbelievable play, partly because it shouldn't have counted. Oklahoma State was penalized for intentional grounding on fourth down as time expired on the play prior, leading officials to award Central Michigan one untimed down. However, NCAA rules state a period shall not be extended if the foul is committed by the team in possession of the ball and includes a loss of down.
This isn't the first time in recent history Central Michigan has pulled off a last-play miracle. In the 2014 Bahamas Bowl, the Chippewas scored a miracle touchdown at the buzzer versus Western Kentucky, though they failed to convert a two-point conversion, ultimately losing to the Hilltoppers.
- Report: Kamara expected to return vs. Panthers
- Dusty Baker joins exclusive club, Astros win 100 for 4th time in 6 years
- Guardians shrink AL Central magic number to 1 with 17th win in 20 games
- Merrifield, Manoah propel Blue Jays to key win over Rays
- Wright wins 20th, Braves beat Phillies to trim NL East deficit