Skip to content

Pac-12, commish Kliavkoff agree to part ways

Icon Sportswire / Getty

The Pac-12 Conference is officially parting ways with commissioner George Kliavkoff, its board of directors announced on Friday.

The conference is expected to provide more details about its new leadership next week. Kliavkoff's tenure will effectively conclude on February 29.

The Pac-12 has witnessed the bulk of its members defect to other Power 5 conferences over the past few years. UCLA and USC announced in May 2022 that they would join the Big Ten ahead of the 2024-25 season.

Eight other programs announced their intention to leave the Pac-12 last summer. Arizona, Arizona State, Colorado, and Utah are going to the Big 12, Washington and Oregon are set to become Big Ten members, and Stanford and Cal will head to the ACC.

The league formally began separating from the commissioner by notifying the 10 outgoing members about the leadership transition. The Pac-12 board currently consists of Oregon State and Washington State.

Both schools have reportedly agreed to a negotiated settlement with the outgoing commissioner. Deputy commissioner Teresa Gould is being targeted as the top candidate to replace Kliavkoff, sources told Yahoo Sports' Ross Dellenger.

Washington State president Kirk Schulz is expected to submit a proposal next week that requests the Pac-12 be treated as a power conference in both revenue and voting rights going forward.

Despite not fielding enough members in its conference to compete for a league championship game, the Pac-12 will retain its spot on both the CFP Management Committee and Board of Managers until the end of the CFP's contract in 2025.

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox