Zion named 2019 Naismith Men's Player of the Year
Patrick Smith / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Duke freshman Zion Williamson has been named the 2019 Naismith Men's Player of the Year.

He's just the third freshman to receive the individual honor, joining Anthony Davis and Kevin Durant in 2012 and 2007, respectively. He's also only the eighth Blue Devil to earn the prize and the first since JJ Redick in 2006.

Murray State guard Ja Morant, Gonzaga forward Rui Hachimura, and Tennessee forward Grant Williams were the other three finalists for the award.

"I want to thank the Citizen Naismith Trophy committee for selecting me as the Player of the Year. It is truly an honor to receive this and join such an elite list of former Blue Devils to have also won the award," Williamson said. "There were so many great players who could have won this award this year.

"I can't thank my teammates, coaches, and family enough for helping me. This is a team award, and it's an honor for me to accept this on behalf of my brothers."

Williamson's latest accolade adds to a growing list of solo accomplishments for the Duke phenom, who was also named AP Player of the Year earlier this week. He also won both the ACC Rookie and Player of the Year awards in March, and is a strong contender for the illustrious John R. Wooden award later this month.

Williamson is expected to be drafted first overall in the NBA draft in June, though he has yet to officially declare.

Zion named 2019 Naismith Men's Player of the Year
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox