Bryant, Donaldson headline Home Run Derby participants

Caylor Arnold / USA TODAY Sports

The eight participants in the 2015 Home Run Derby, who will compete in a new single-elimination tournament, were unveiled Thursday.

For the first time ever, participants will face a time limit rather than a set number of outs, and will compete head-to-head in a knockout bracket.

Rank Player Team HR
1 Albert Pujols Angels 26
8 Kris Bryant Cubs 12
4 Joc Pederson Dodgers 20
5 Manny Machado Orioles 19
3 Josh Donaldson Blue Jays 21
6 Anthony Rizzo Cubs 16
2 Todd Frazier Reds 25
7 Prince Fielder Rangers 13

Each participant will have five minutes to hit more home runs than his opponent, though bonus time (a maximum of a minute-and-a-half) can be earned by hitting particularly lengthy home runs. The player with more home runs at the end of each round will advance, with tiebreakers to be determined by a 90-second swing-off or, failing that, successive three-swing swing-offs until a winner is crowned. Each batter is also entitled to a 45-second timeout per round.

Home Runs in a Given Round Distance(s) (ft) Bonus Period
0-1 474 or less 0:00
1 475+ 0:30
2+ 420-474 1:00
2+ 420-474; or both 475+ 1:30

The event will take place Monday at Great American Ball Park in Cincinnati.

Bryant, Donaldson headline Home Run Derby participants
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox