Canada coach Marsch cleared of wrongdoing after CONCACAF investigation
Canada head coach Jesse Marsch has been cleared of any wrongdoing following a CONCACAF investigation into his conduct during the ongoing Gold Cup, the governing body announced Monday.
Marsch and Canada Soccer were under investigation for "incidents" that occurred during the team's tournament opener last week, a 6-0 win over Honduras at BC Place in Vancouver.
Canada Soccer (CSA) was fined an undisclosed amount for "breaching security protocols for accredited delegation officials and for failing to comply with anti-doping procedures by not providing the required representative for the halftime doping control draw," CONCACAF said in a statement.
The CSA called the two fines "minor" in a brief statement.
CONCACAF was investigating whether Marsch and the CSA disregarded rules regarding suspended officials, and whether the tactician used offensive language toward CONCACAF match officials.
Marsch wasn't on the touchline for the 6-0 demolition of Honduras, as he was serving the first game of a two-match ban for a red card he received earlier this year during the Nations League third-place match.
He planned to watch the Honduras game from a private suite within BC Place. The investigation centered on his frustrated response, and the language he used, when told by a CONCACAF official that he needed to move from that location, sources told TSN.
Marsch said little about the investigation when asked about it prior to Canada's second group match of the competition.
"I think it's a much bigger deal in the media than it is internally," he told reporters ahead of Canada's 1-1 draw with Curacao in Houston.
Canada, looking to secure top spot in Group B, will close out group play against El Salvador today. Marsch is eligible to return to the bench.
HEADLINES
- Mariners' Rodríguez: Raleigh 'deserves his 1st shot' at MVP
- Haliburton doesn't regret Achilles tear in Game 7: 'I'd do it again'
- Report: Celtics trade Holiday to Blazers for Simons, picks
- Nationals' Ruiz departs after getting hit in head by teammate's foul ball
- D-Backs' Carroll going on IL with wrist fracture