Iowa's Garza, UConn's Bueckers named Naismith Trophy winners
Carmen Mandato / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Iowa forward Luka Garza and UConn guard Paige Bueckers have been named Naismith Trophy winners for the 2020-21 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Saturday.

Garza is the first Hawkeyes player to win the award. The back-to-back Big Ten Player of the Year ranked second in the nation with 24.1 points per game this season.

"Winning an award in Naismith's name is an honor my family and I will always treasure. Naismith changed my life, and so many others, by creating the game that so many love," Garza said in a statement. "In 2015, when my dad and I watched Frank Kaminsky accept the Naismith Trophy in Indianapolis, I never thought I would be in this position six years later."

Bueckers becomes the first freshman to ever win the Naismith Trophy after averaging 20 points, 5.7 assists, and 4.9 rebounds across 29 games. Her 14-assist performance against Butler in February set a new single-game record for the Huskies program.

"I feel incredibly blessed to receive the Naismith Trophy. It was an honor to receive the high school award last season, and, truly, it's surreal to receive the collegiate award this year," Bueckers said. "My teammates and coaches are the reason I had any individual success this year, so, thank you to them for being by my side all season."

Bueckers was also named the Big East Freshman of the Year and the Big East Player of the Year.

Iowa's Garza, UConn's Bueckers named Naismith Trophy winners
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox