McIlroy wins 2018-19 PGA Tour Player of the Year award
Tracy Wilcox / PGA TOUR / Getty

Rory McIlroy was named the 2018-19 PGA Tour Player of the Year as voted by the players, the Tour announced Wednesday.

McIlroy edged out fellow nominees Brooks Koepka, Matt Kuchar, and Xander Schauffele to claim the award, which is commonly referred to as the Jack Nicklaus Award, for the third time.

"(I'm) somewhat surprised, but very honored," McIlroy said, according to the Associated Press' Doug Ferguson.

The 30-year-old Northern Irishman won the Players Championship and Canadian Open, and also won the Tour Championship to secure his second FedEx Cup trophy. McIlroy finished the season with an astounding 14 top-10 finishes in 19 events played.

He was previously named Player of the Year in 2012 and 2014.

McIlroy's win marks the first time since 1991 that different players received the PGA Tour's and PGA of America's respective Player of the Year awards. Koepka captured the PGA of America's honor, which is based on a point system, for his brilliant performances in major championships.

McIlroy wins 2018-19 PGA Tour Player of the Year award
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox