Kuchar asks for replay, 3rd opinion in bizarre attempt at favorable ruling
Andy Lyons / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Leave it to Matt Kuchar to provide some entertainment during what's usually a slow Thursday afternoon on the PGA Tour.

With wet conditions at Muirfield Village for Round 1 of the Memorial Tournament, Kuchar found his ball resting on top of a pitch mark in the middle of the fairway on No. 18.

Replay showed his drive landed, bounced in the air, and then came down near his original landing area. But, because the bouncing ball likely did not break ground as it landed for a second time, Kuchar was ineligible for free relief, as his ball was not considered embedded.

But the 40-year-old wasn't sold.

A rules official watched the replay thanks to a nearby cameraman and made a decision, but Kuchar wanted a second opinion.

Kuchar then really began to plead his case, as he got down on one knee to outline the area where he thought his ball broke ground for a second time. He was even allowed to mark his ball in the fairway to give everyone a better look.

The second rules official arrived on the scene and was not buying Kuchar's explanation. He told the golfer he didn't need to see the replay, as it was evident the ball was not embedded in the original pitch mark and Kuchar must play it as it lies.

"Can I ask for a third?" Kuchar said to the official.

His request was denied and he eventually made par on the hole.

Rickie Fowler, who was in the same group and witnessed the scene first hand, yelled "Cheat! He was trying to cheat!" as Kuchar spoke with reporters, according to Golf.com's Dylan Dethier. It was evident he was making light of the incident.

The PGA Tour posted the video, then later deleted it from their social media feeds.

Twitter also had some fun with the entire situation.

Comments
Kuchar asks for replay, 3rd opinion in bizarre attempt at favorable ruling
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox