Webb Simpson: Rules that don't consider intent 'killing our game'
Sam Greenwood / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Webb Simpson was handed a one-stroke penalty for accidentally moving his ball during the final round of The Players Championship.

However, it was far from a purposeful act of cheating. Simpson's long putter got stuck in his shirt and ended up hitting his ball that was positioned on the fringe.

"This is where I'm going to be loud and clear, we have to get intent into the rules," Simpson said afterward, according to Golf Channel's Rex Hoggard. "We have to. Because it's killing our game when it comes to these kinds of things."

Under the new rules laid out for 2019, Simpson would have been able to move his ball back to its original spot if it had been on the green. Instead, the penalty was enforced.

The penalty stroke cost Simpson $51,250, as he finished in a tie for 16th at 10-under par.

Comments
Webb Simpson: Rules that don't consider intent 'killing our game'
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox