Skip to content

CWHL to become 2nd women's hockey league to pay its players

Andrew Francis Wallace / Toronto Star / Getty

After the four-team NWHL dropped the puck in October as the first U.S. women's hockey league to pay its players, the other major women's hockey league in North America is planning to follow suit.

The Canadian Women's Hockey League, which already pays its coaches and general managers, intends to begin paying its players a regular salary beginning next season, according to the Associated Press.

Founded in 2007, the CWHL consists of four teams in Canada and one in the U.S. and players can currently receive prize money for winning a regular season or a playoff title.

The announcement may move the two leagues towards a merger, and CWHL governor and Calgary Flames president Brian Burke suggests the two organizations must continue to work together moving forward.

"I think the more walls we put up, the longer this process is going to take," Burke said. "I'd rather have everyone sit down and figure out something that worked for both sides."

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox