Sharks' Boughner: 'Disastrous blown call' on Ducks' OT winner

Icon Sportswire / Getty

San Jose Sharks head coach Bob Boughner wasn't happy after Anaheim Ducks forward Rickard Rakell scored in what the bench boss deemed questionable fashion to win Sunday's game in overtime.

Early in the extra frame, Rakell came off the bench while teammate Adam Henrique was still leaving the ice. The Swede received a pass and buried the decisive marker moments later, only 14 seconds into the extra frame.

Here's another look at the play:

"It's a complete, disastrous blown call," Boughner said postgame, according to The Athletic's Corey Masisak, before adding he believed it was "too many men all day long."

Boughner was particularly upset with how the officiating crew handled the aftermath.

"The thing that pisses me off the most is they don't even come over to the bench. They race off the ice, (don't even have) the respect to come and explain it," the head coach said, according to the Mercury News' Curtis Pashelka.

Here's Rule 74 from the NHL rule book:

Players may be changed at any time during the play from the players' bench provided that the player or players leaving the ice shall be within five feet (5') of his players' bench and out of the play before the change is made. Refer also to Rule 71 – Premature Substitution. At the discretion of the on-ice officials, should a substituting player come onto the ice before his teammate is within the five foot (5') limit of the players' bench (and therefore clearly causing his team to have too many players on the ... ice), then a bench minor penalty may be assessed.

When a player is retiring from the ice surface and is within the five foot (5') limit of his players' bench, and his substitute is on the ice, then the retiring player shall be considered off the ice for the purpose of Rule 70 – Leaving Bench. If in the course of making a substitution, either the player entering the game or the player retiring plays the puck or who checks or makes any physical contact with an opposing player while both players involved in the substitution are on the ice, then the infraction of "too many men on the ice" will be called.

If in the course of a substitution either the player(s) entering the play or the player(s) retiring is struck by the puck accidentally, the play will not be stopped and no penalty will be called. During the play, the player retiring from the ice must do so at the players' bench and not through any other exit leading from the rink. This is not a legal player change and therefore when a violation occurs, a bench minor penalty shall be imposed. A player coming onto the ice as a substitute player is considered on the ice once both of his skates are on the ice. If he plays the puck or interferes with an opponent while still on the players’ bench, he shall be penalized under Rule 56 – Interference.

Sunday's result gave Anaheim victories over the Sharks in the first and last contests of its six-game homestand. The Ducks prevailed 4-3 in a shootout Feb. 22.

Comments
Sharks' Boughner: 'Disastrous blown call' on Ducks' OT winner
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox