McDavid becomes 2nd player ever to unanimously win Hart Trophy

Francois Lacasse / National Hockey League / Getty

Edmonton Oilers captain Connor McDavid captured the Hart Trophy on Tuesday night, claiming NHL MVP honors for the second time in his six-year career.

McDavid won the honor unanimously this time. The superstar forward became only the second player in the 97-year history of the award to do so and the first since Wayne Gretzky following The Great One's 212-point season in the early 1980s.

Here's how the votes shook out:

The 24-year-old amassed a league-leading 72 assists and 105 points and ranked second with 33 goals in 56 games during the 2021 regular season. He did so while averaging 22:09 of ice time, the fourth-highest workload among forwards.

McDavid previously won the Hart in 2016-17.

Toronto Maple Leafs superstar Auston Matthews and Colorado Avalanche dynamo Nathan MacKinnon are the runners-up for this year's award.

Matthews won the 2021 "Rocket" Richard Trophy with a league-best 41 goals in 52 games. He also finished tied for fifth in points among NHL skaters with 66.

MacKinnon produced 20 goals and 45 assists in 48 contests. He was the biggest reason the Avalanche won the Presidents' Trophy as the team with the best overall record, and he authored a 63.7 expected goals for percentage this season, according to Natural Stat Trick.

The Professional Hockey Writers Association votes annually to determine the Hart Trophy finalists and winner.

McDavid becomes 2nd player ever to unanimously win Hart Trophy
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox