Peter DeBoer thinks the NHL will apologize for the refereeing during Monday night's defeat to the Boston Bruins.
The San Jose Sharks head coach said as much when asked about Chris Wagner's controversial late tying goal. The Bruins forward appeared to bat the puck out of the air with a high stick before it went into the net.
DeBoer confirmed the officiating crew told him Wagner was allowed to play the puck at shoulder length. However, the goal didn't get reviewed because the initial high stick wasn't called.
"It was above his shoulders, but really, the officiating (for) the whole third period ... was ... I'm sure we'll get an explanation and some type of apology," DeBoer told reporters postgame. "It doesn't help us in the standings, but that's usually how it works."
Wagner's stick appeared to make contact with the puck above the crossbar prior to the goal. Then he seemed to touch the puck again with his stick, but the issue is whether his second touch occurred before or after the puck crossed the goal line.
If the second touch came before the puck crossed the line, Wagner would have been eligible to play the puck at his shoulder and not crossbar height on the first touch.