Coyotes name AHL affiliate the Tucson Roadrunners

The Arizona Coyotes' AHL affiliate has officially been named the Tucson Roadrunners, president and CEO Anthony LeBlanc announced Saturday.

"We are very proud to name our AHL affiliate the Tucson Roadrunners," said LeBlanc. "The Tucson Roadrunners will build on the great traditions of hockey in Arizona dating back to 1967.

"Roadrunners was the overwhelming fan favorite during our 'Name the Team' contest, and we thank the thousands of fans who helped us select a great name that creates a strong connection to the City of Tucson, reflects our state pride, and extends the reach of the Coyotes brand."

The Roadrunners name dates back to 1967, when the Phoenix Roadrunners of the Western Hockey League (WHL) became Arizona's first professional sports team. The WHL disbanded in 1974, and the Roadrunners became a part of the World Hockey Association (WHA), and subsequently the Pacific Hockey League (PHL), until 1979.

A decade later, the Roadrunners were back as part of the International Hockey League (IHL) and remained until 1997. The Roadrunners then returned to Phoenix in 2005 as a member of the ECHL until 2009.

The Tucson Roadrunners will begin the 2016-17 AHL season in October.

Coyotes name AHL affiliate the Tucson Roadrunners
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox