Did the refs miss an illegal formation on Eagles' trick-play TD?
The Philadelphia Eagles took a 22-12 lead over the New England Patriots into the locker room at halftime of Super Bowl LII thanks to one of the wildest plays in recent memory, but it didn't come without controversy.
With the Eagles facing a 4th-and-goal from the Patriots' 1-yard line, quarterback Nick Foles lined up in the backfield and motioned to the right. Running back Corey Clement then took the direct snap and pitched the ball to tight end Trey Burton, who threw it to Foles for the touchdown.
The question about the legality of the play stems from the formation prior to the snap. With receiver Alshon Jeffery a half-yard off the line of scrimmage, the Eagles only had six players on the line - one less than is required.
The fourth down trick play TS to Nick Foles was an illegal formation, should have been called back...extended WR to the top of the screen is off the ball (needs to be on the line with just the OT on inside him). #SB52 #Eagles #Patriots pic.twitter.com/tdX7hIpiGu
— Matt Chatham (@chatham58) February 5, 2018
While that would technically be a violation, the popular rules website @FootballZebras weighed in on Twitter and claimed such a play is usually a conversation between referees and players and not immediately called a foul.
Off by about a ½ yard? Yeah, probably. If this is recurring, then the wing will call it out in a stoppage, and tell the receiver to scootch up. Unless it's wildly off, or it's part of an exotic formation like a swinging gate, then that doesn't get flagged as an isolated play https://t.co/8ilRhBBWwT
— Fᴏᴏᴛʙᴀʟʟ Zᴇʙʀᴀs (@footballzebras) February 5, 2018