Reed involved in embedded-ball rule controversy
Patrick Reed wound up at the center of another rules controversy Saturday at the Farmers Insurance Open when his approach shot on No. 10 nestled into thick rough left of the green.
Reed got to his ball and picked it up before a rules official arrived to assess the situation. The golfer said the ball was embedded in the ground and worthy of a free drop.
He then asked the official to check the lie and confirm the ball broke ground. Reed said he didn't think the ball bounced on impact.
@NoLayingUp here’s the convo with the rules official, twice telling him it didnt bounce. Use at you will. pic.twitter.com/1ohSXYnYKv
— James Else (@Elsey6) January 30, 2021
The rules official agreed with him that the ball broke ground, despite not seeing the evidence for himself.
However, it could be seen on the replay that the ball bounced.
This is truly insane. There is ZERO chance that ball was embedded & impossible to even prove it because Reed picked it up before anyone could see. pic.twitter.com/SpSCPk0Wou
— Dan Back (@dan_back) January 30, 2021
Typically, a player waits for the rules official to arrive before touching or moving their ball. Additionally, officials have asked in the past to look at broadcast footage before making judgments.
"You can imagine the rest of the world is screaming at that one," Nick Faldo said about the ruling.
Twitter users responded accordingly.
Reed, knowing the cameras are following his group, could have asked a rules official to check the tape to see if his ball bounced. It did!
— No Laying Up (@NoLayingUp) January 30, 2021
Instead he picks it up, then calls a rules official in to "double check" and gets the free drop.
And gets it up and down. Unreal.
This is absolutely insane! There's not one good reason for him to have already picked up the ball. I can't believe they've moved on from this so quickly.
— No Laying Up (@NoLayingUp) January 30, 2021
Especially if the tour is going to encourage gambling, how can they let stuff like this continue to happen? https://t.co/HvW08mMuty
Unbelievable! Ken Tackett covering for Reed again!
— No Laying Up (@NoLayingUp) January 30, 2021
He needs corrected. The official did NOT identify that the ball had actually embedded BECAUSE THE BALL WAS ALREADY PICKED UP!!
Remember, kids: You don’t have to be quick, you just have to be quicker than the rules official you called over.
— Jason Sobel (@JasonSobelTAN) January 30, 2021
Reed was leading the tournament at the time of the incident.
HEADLINES
- Springer's career-high 7 RBIs help Jays pummel Yankees on Canada Day
- Astros' Alvarez shut down after setback in rehab of fractured hand
- Red Wings legend and Hockey Hall of Famer Alex Delvecchio dies at 93
- NHL free agency: Live analysis of the biggest moves
- Report: Pistons sign Heat's Robinson to 3-year, $48M deal as part of sign-and-trade