Oregon AD Rob Mullens named chair of CFP Selection Committee
Kevin C. Cox / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Oregon athletic director Rob Mullens will be the new chair of the College Football Playoff Committee when Kirby Hocutt's term ends Feb. 1.

"We are delighted that Rob will be stepping into this role," CFP executive director Bill Hancock said in a statement. "He is an experienced committee member, extremely passionate about college football, detail-oriented, and brings a high level of energy that is perfectly suited to chairing the committee."

Mullens is familiar with the process, as he's served as a member of the committee for the past two seasons. He will be the third chair in CFP history, following Jeff Long and Hocutt.

While the new role for Mullens brings numerous responsibilities, the most notable is likely as spokesperson for the committee when the weekly rankings are released during the season.

In addition to Mullens' appointment, the CFP Management Committee named six new members to the Selection Committee on Wednesday. They include sports journalist Paola Boivin, Oklahoma athletic director Joe Castiglione, former Arkansas, Clemson, Air Force, and Rice head coach Ken Hatfield, college football Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, Georgia Tech athletic director Todd Stansbury, and Florida athletic director Scott Stricklin.

Each new member begins a three-year term with the 2018 season.

Oregon AD Rob Mullens named chair of CFP Selection Committee
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox