Ejected Gibbons took exception to Carapazza's call, 'smug smile'

Brandon Wile
Nick Turchiaro / USA TODAY Sports

Toronto Blue Jays manager John Gibbons got his money's worth after receiving his third ejection of the season Monday, but the money quote didn't come until after.

Gibbons was tossed in the eighth inning for arguing an interference call against Devon Travis that resulted in Cleveland Indians shortstop Francisco Lindor being awarded second base, rather than ruled out during a rundown.

"I know the rule. You get obstruction if there's contact made," Gibbons said following Toronto's 4-2 win, according to Arden Zwelling of Sportsnet. "I've never seen an umpire call that without some kind of contact being made."

The Indians scored their second run of the game on the play, as Travis was ruled to have obstructed Lindor on his way back to first. Travis never made contact with Lindor, but did impede his progress.

"Umpire (Vic Carapazza) told me (Travis) didn't bump (Lindor), he just hindered his progress," Gibbons added. "I was like, 'Okay that may be the rule, but I've been around a while and I've never seen it without some kind of contact.' So, that was my argument. That and his smug smile."