Steve Nash, Ray Allen, Jason Kidd headline 2018 Hall of Fame finalists
Christian Petersen / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Steve Nash, Ray Allen, and Jason Kidd were among the 13 names announced as finalists for the stacked 2018 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame class on Saturday afternoon:

  • Steve Nash (player)
  • Ray Allen (player)
  • Jason Kidd (player)
  • Chris Webber (player)
  • Grant Hill (player)
  • Maurice Cheeks (player)
  • Tina Thompson (player)
  • Katie Smith (player)
  • Rudy Tomjanovich (coach)
  • Kim Mulkey (coach)
  • Charles "Lefty" Driesell (coach)
  • Hugh Evans (referee)
  • 1954-58 Wayland Baptist Univ. (team)
  • Doris Burke (Curt Cowdy Media Award - Broadcast)
  • Jim Host (John Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award)
  • Harley Redin (John Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award)
  • Andy Bernstein (Curt Gowdy Media Award - Print)

Modifications were made to the enshrinement process to allow players to be eligible for the Hall of Fame just three calendar years after retirement instead of the previous five. This change benefited both Nash and Allen, who last competed in 2014. Kidd would have been eligible regardless.

Nash made eight All-Star teams during his 18-year playing career and won the NBA's Most Valuable Player award on two occasions (2005, 2006). He led the league in assists five times and was a three-time member of the All-NBA First Team.

Allen is recognized as one of the greatest shooters in the history of the sport. That was never more apparent than in Game 6 of the 2013 Finals when he connected on a game-tying 3-pointer in the final seconds which saved the series for the Miami Heat. Allen won a title that year with the organization, as well as one five years prior with the Boston Celtics. He's also the all-time leader in made 3-pointers with 2,973 across 1,300 appearances.

Kidd was an elite two-way guard who could impact the game without putting up huge offensive numbers. He worked his way onto four All-Defensive First Teams, earned 10 All-Star nods, and won his only championship with the Dallas Mavericks during his second stint with the franchise in 2011.

A finalist must receive at least 18 out of 24 votes from the Honors Committee to be inducted. Those who do will be announced as official inductees during the NCAA's Final Four.

Steve Nash, Ray Allen, Jason Kidd headline 2018 Hall of Fame finalists
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox