Skip to content

Report: White Sox told interference call was wrong

Jamie Sabau / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Major League Baseball contacted the Chicago White Sox on Friday to notify the club that Thursday's game-ending interference call shouldn't have been made, sources told ESPN's Jesse Rogers.

The controversial call was made by third base umpire Junior Valentine against White Sox slugger Andrew Vaughn with Orioles shortstop Gunnar Henderson attempting to catch an infield fly. The decision sealed Baltimore's 8-6 victory, as Vaughn, the runner on second at the time, was called out on the play.

MLB rule 6.01(a) states a baserunner can be ruled out for hindering a fielder's ability to make a play, even if it's accidental. Determining what classifies as interference is up to the umpire.

"There doesn't have to actually even be contact. If (the runner) hinders the fielder in the attempt to field a batted ball, intent is not required and it's interference," Valentine said postgame, per's Scott Merkin.

White Sox manager Pedro Grifol expressed frustration with the rule itself rather than with Valentine for enforcing it.

“Their shortstop had plenty of time to catch the baseball, and then if you want to talk about the runner, well, how does he know what the fielder is doing behind him?" he said postgame.

"(Vaughn) didn’t make contact on purpose. He wasn’t trying to impede Gunnar from catching the fly ball. He wasn’t doing that."

Vaughn echoed his manager's confusion.

“I was reading the play, saw the popup, know it was an infield fly. Read it, started shuffling back, and he kind of breezed by me on the right side. And then, yeah, he made the play and the umpire called me out," he said.

The White Sox have not protested the result of the game.

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox