Skip to content

The Best Awards: FIFA reveals nominees for 2023 honors

Michael Regan - FIFA / FIFA / Getty

Football award season is well and truly upon us.

After the candidates for the Ballon d'Or award were unveiled earlier this month, FIFA released the nominees for its awards for 2023.

Lists for various honors, such as the top men's and women's players, were announced Thursday as the world governing body gets set to crown football's top players and coaches at its annual Best FIFA Football Awards show.

Here are the nominees for some of the trophies up for grabs:

Best Men's Player

  • Lionel Messi (Argentina and Paris Saint-Germain/Inter Miami)
  • Kylian Mbappe (France and Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Victor Osimhen (Nigeria and Napoli)
  • Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Georgia and Napoli)
  • Declan Rice (England and West Ham/Arsenal)
  • Marcelo Brozovic (Croatia and Inter Milan/Al-Nassr)
  • Erling Haaland (Norway and Manchester City)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium and Manchester City)
  • Julian Alvarez (Argentina and Manchester City)
  • Rodri (Spain and Manchester City)
  • Bernardo Silva (Portugal and Manchester City)
  • Ilkay Gundogan (Germany and Manchester City/Barcelona)

Best Women's Player

  • Aitana Bonmati (Spain and Barcelona)
  • Linda Caicedo (Colombia and Real Madrid)
  • Rachel Daly (England and Aston Villa)
  • Kadidiatou Diani (France and Lyon)
  • Caitlin Foord (Australia and Arsenal)
  • Mary Fowler (Australia and Manchester City)
  • Alex Greenwood (England and Manchester City)
  • Jennifer Hermoso (Spain and CF Pachua)
  • Lindsey Horan (United States and Lyon)
  • Amanda Ilestedt (Sweden and Arsenal)
  • Lauren James (England and Chelsea)
  • Sam Kerr (Australia and Chelsea)
  • Mapi Leon (Spain and Barcelona)
  • Hinata Miyazawa (Japan and Manchester United)
  • Salma Paralluelo (Spain and Barcelona)
  • Keira Walsh (England and Barcelona)

Best Men's Coach

  • Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)
  • Simone Inzaghi (Inter Milan)
  • Ange Postecoglou (Celtic/Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Luciano Spalletti (Napoli/Italy)
  • Xavi (Barcelona)

Best Women's Coach

  • Peter Gerhardsson (Sweden)
  • Jonatan Giraldez (Barcelona)
  • Tony Gustavsson (Australia)
  • Emma Hayes (Chelsea)
  • Sarina Wiegman (England)

Best Men's Goalkeeper

  • Yassine Bounou (Morocco and Sevilla/Al-Hilal)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Belgium and Real Madrid)
  • Ederson (Brazil and Manchester City)
  • Andre Onana (Cameroon and Inter Milan/Manchester United)
  • Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Germany and Barcelona)

Best Women's Goalkeeper

  • Mackenzie Arnold (Australia and West Ham)
  • Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany and Chelsea)
  • Catalina Coll (Spain and Barcelona)
  • Mary Earps (England and Manchester United)
  • Christiane Endler (Chile and Lyon)
  • Zecira Musovic (Sweden and Chelsea)
  • Sandra Panos Garcia-Villamil (Spain and Barcelona)

The qualifying period for the men's awards was between Dec. 19, 2022, and Aug. 20, 2023. The women's qualifying was from Aug. 1, 2022, and Aug. 20, 2023.

Fan voting for each award is open until Oct. 6. However, voting for the Puskas Award, presented to the player who scored the best goal in the qualifying period, will open Sept. 21.

A date for the Best FIFA Football Awards show has yet to be announced.

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox